Sunday, January 31, 2010

alec's socks

It takes a long time to knit a sock with over ten thousand stitches. This is a slipper - the white stiches are loops of wool inside which eventually felt together.
Guelph, January 2010

Saturday, January 30, 2010

Friday, January 29, 2010


Guelph, January 200?

Thursday, January 28, 2010

beach rock

Joggins, Nova Scotia, August 200?

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

rock, wood & snow

Rockwood, ON, January 2010

Monday, January 25, 2010

walking on the river

Eramosa River/Rockwood Lake, Rockwood CA, January 2010

Sunday, January 24, 2010

the mill pond... Rockwood Conservation Area.
January, 2010

Saturday, January 23, 2010

frozen lake

Rockwood Lake is frozen now.
Rockwood CA, January 2010

Friday, January 22, 2010

Some Tips for Guitar Players

1. Picks Are NOT a Good Investment: When visiting a music store resist the temptation to purchase five picks - four of them will disappear with a week - you will hold on to that last one for over a year or more. Get one.

2. Be Careful of that G String When Changing Strings: The end of a G string embedded in the fleshy part of your thumb or a finger is painful. You can get away with accidentally pushing the end of the bass strings and the B and E will probably just bend, but the G string will go in to the bone. Just saying.

3. The Dreaded F Chord: The F chord is likely the first chord you'll encounter where you have to simultaneously play two strings with one finger - and they're both on the f-ing first fret! Ouch! It's not totally necessary to learn the F chord though, unless you enjoy the sense of accomplishment this painful endeavour brings. F chords are why capos were invented.

Guelph, January 2010

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

missing tree

Someone chopped the top off of a very large tree this Christmas.
Speed River, Guelph, January 2010

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Monday, January 18, 2010

fresh prints

Guelph, January 2010

Sunday, January 17, 2010

mist tree

Kitchener, December 2009

Saturday, January 16, 2010

turf war

Guelph, January 2010

Friday, January 15, 2010

hanlon expressway

Guelph, January 2010

Thursday, January 14, 2010

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

work team

Highway 9, January 2010

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

sunset horse

The Elora Road, January 2010

Monday, January 11, 2010

a wary deer..

surveying from the ridge.
Guelph, January 2010

Sunday, January 10, 2010

red fox on a sunday stroll

We surprised each other.
Guelph, January 2010

Saturday, January 09, 2010

winter sunset

near Elora, January 2010

Friday, January 08, 2010

everybody duck

Speed River, Guelph, January 2010

Thursday, January 07, 2010

hold your head up

Cambridge, January 2010

Wednesday, January 06, 2010

Tuesday, January 05, 2010

touching the waterfall

Cambridge, January 2010

Monday, January 04, 2010

gliding moth

Cambridge, January 2010

Sunday, January 03, 2010

january butterfly.. the conservatory.
Cambridge, January 2010

Saturday, January 02, 2010

Friday, January 01, 2010

icy fingers

Speed River, Guelph, January 2010