Saturday, October 31, 2009


Gareth Lind's pumpkin,
Guelph, October, 2009

Friday, October 30, 2009

golden blanket

Guelph, October 2009

Thursday, October 29, 2009


Stone Road Mall.
Guelph, October 2009

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

funmade skirt

Aurora made a skirt.
Guelph, October 2009

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

Monday, October 26, 2009

ani's apple head

Guelph, October 2009

Sunday, October 25, 2009

Saturday, October 24, 2009

Friday, October 23, 2009

eat well, don't get cancer

subversive graffiti.
Guelph, October 2009

Thursday, October 22, 2009

elora woods

Elora, October 2009

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

rock'n roots

Elora Gorge, October 2009

Monday, October 19, 2009

cedar and limestone #2

Elora Gorge, October 2009

Sunday, October 18, 2009

cedar and limestone

Elora Gorge, October 2009

Saturday, October 17, 2009

Friday, October 16, 2009

little red fox

The Guelph Studio Tour is happening this weekend - handmade beauties abound including this lttle red fox by Eve Geisler whose work can be seen at Stonehouse Pottery along with pottery by Iris Dorton, jewellery by Michelle Miller and pottery by Jessica Steinhauser.
Guelph, October 2009

Thursday, October 15, 2009

don't do

Guelph, October 2009

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

why do people collect things?

One year ago we were clearing out my aunt's house after she passed on. My uncle's food grinder collection ranged along one wall of the woodshed. What do you collect?
Grey County, October 2008

Monday, October 12, 2009

leaves are falling just like embers

The Fall Colour Report outlines leaf colour changes throughout Ontario.
Rattlesnake Point, October 2009

Sunday, October 11, 2009

rattlesnake point

The view south from Rattlesnake Point with Mount Nemo in the background.
Niagara Escarpment, October 2009

Saturday, October 10, 2009

Friday, October 09, 2009

Thursday, October 08, 2009

late afternoon light

There are still some natural beauties at the Gosling Gardens.
Arboretum, Guelph, October 2009

Wednesday, October 07, 2009

we are family

Downtown Guelph, October 2009

Tuesday, October 06, 2009


The Arboretum, Guelph, October 2009

Monday, October 05, 2009

Sunday, October 04, 2009

Saturday, October 03, 2009


When I was around ten I spent many happy days living with my aunt and uncle on the family farm where my dad was born in Grey County. There was no well for drinking water so we would go a mile or so up the side of the nearest drumlin where a spring of cold fresh water came bubbling out of the ground and there we would fill a large milk can with the delicious clean water and take it home. I have vivid memories of the taste - after coming in from the fields or mows - and going to the woodshed and using the long handled dipper to dip into the water can and fill a tin cup.

Several years later they did dig a well and finally had running water in the house - right from a tap. To them that was luxury.

All my life I've been privledged to have clear fresh potable water available at the mere flick of a wrist. It's taken for granted. But now I'm starting to feel how I would love to be able to hike a kilometre or so up a hill through the butternut trees, past the little waterfall and stop and look out on the valley and stoop, cup my hands and get a drink of cold fresh spring water as it flowed out of the ground. To me that would be luxury.

Second hand store window, Guelph, September 2009

Friday, October 02, 2009

bracket fungus

Starkey Trail, Arkell, September 2009

Thursday, October 01, 2009

song of the sky

Guelph, September 2009