Friday, March 31, 2006

Melting Cowboy

The melting cowboy snowman - someone having some final winter fun - just south of Rockford.

Highway 6/10

Thursday, March 30, 2006

2nd Av E Owen Sound #2

Another shot of a building on Owen Sound's main street - just up the street from the day before yesterdays pic. Nice lamposts too.

Owen Sound

Wednesday, March 29, 2006

Looking down on Inglis Falls

Inglis Falls is unusal in that it is a cascade falls that descends over several steps of large boulders. Most falls along the Niagara Escarpment are curtains falling over a ledge.

Owen Sound

Tuesday, March 28, 2006

2nd Avenue East - Owen Sound

There are some beautiful old store fronts with apartments above along the main drag in Owen Sound. Very typical Ontario architecture - nice to see it still there when so many downtowns have been bulldozed into el moderne.

Owen Sound

Monday, March 27, 2006

Under Inglis Falls

It's a bit tricky getting down to the gorge at this time of year - you're not quite sure how solid the snow is and how far your leg will poke into it - but it's a beautiful sight looking up at the falls. The water is loud loud.

Inglis Falls
, Owen Sound

Sunday, March 26, 2006

Inglis Falls in Spring

Sprint melt rushes through the gorge below Inglis Falls.

Owen Sound

Saturday, March 25, 2006

Friday, March 24, 2006

Amish Mennonites near Lucknow

"A number of Amish and Mennonite communities exist throughout the Maitland River basin, including settlements in the communities of Milverton, Atwood, Listowel and Lucknow. The former village of Milverton has the largest and longest standing community of Canadian Old Order Amish in Canada. "Amish Mennonites", often simply referred to as Amish, are a group of Anabaptist Mennonites from Switzerland, Alsace and Lorraine in France and South Germany that were followers of Jakob Ammann in the late 17th century. The term applies equally to their North American descendents, who came to Ontario from Pennsylvania or directly from Europe in the 1820s, to settle near the Regional Municipality of Waterloo (Grand River watershed). The Milverton and Lucknow Amish are considered "old order" communities. Other Mennonite communities exist in Listowel and Atwood." - Guelph Water Management Group

Near Lucknow

Thursday, March 23, 2006

hot naked university chicks!!!!!!!!

If you want to increase your blog readership there are two basic marketing laws which will help you:
1. Use! as! many! exclamation! marks! as! you! possibly! can!!!
2. Post photos of hot naked university chicks.

College Royal, University of Guelph

Wednesday, March 22, 2006

boa constrictor

The University of Guelph's strong agricultural elements and vet school ensure some exciting fauna will be displayed at the annual open house, College Royal. In addition to this boa constrictor there were several other varities of snakes as well as turtles, birds, horses, cattle, sheep, llamas, and more.


Tuesday, March 21, 2006


Seems to be a reverse mullet on this fashionable alpaca at College Royal.

University of Guelph

Monday, March 20, 2006

Winter Sunset

Even in winter the sunsets over Lake Huron can be glorious. The ice does go out a ways but it's not stable enough to venture out onto.

Port Albert

Sunday, March 19, 2006

College Royal

Today was College Royal, the annual open house at The University of Guelph. The petting zoo was a popular spot.

University of Guelph

Saturday, March 18, 2006

spring stream

A small stream rushes down the Goderich cliffs into the harbour.


Friday, March 17, 2006

Lake Huron Ice

There is still lots of ice on the Lake Huron shore. Sarah heads into the sunset at Port Albert - there is a very funky inn here - great food and very nice people.

Port Albert

Thursday, March 16, 2006

water and ice

I'm always fascinated by the various forms water takes on - sculpted by wind, gravity and temperature. This area looks quite different in the summer.

Spencer Gorge

Wednesday, March 15, 2006

Ice in Spencer Creek Gorge

The warmer weather is taking the edge off the ice below Webster's Falls in the Spencer Creek gorge.

Spencer Creek Gorge

Tuesday, March 14, 2006

Ice at Webster's Falls

Mist rises from the bowl below as Spencer Creek's spring rush flows over Webster's Falls.

Near Dundas

Monday, March 13, 2006

Tew's Falls in March

It's hard to tell from this angle but this is a tall waterfall - just a few metres short of Niagara Falls' height. Not much volume but a pretty sight nonetheless. Quite accessible, just a short path in from the road and new safe viewing platforms.

Tew's Falls, near Dundas

Sunday, March 12, 2006

Snow Drops

Last Sunday snow covered our garden. Today these precocious snow drops appeared to herald the spring.


Saturday, March 11, 2006

Webster's Falls

Spring thaw brings reams of freed water down Spencer Creek and over Webster's Falls near Dundas. This is one of the largest waterfalls on the Niagara Escarpment - and very accessible. A beautiful setting along the Bruce Trail, with other waterfalls, Tew's and Borer's, within hiking distance.


Friday, March 10, 2006

Thursday, March 09, 2006

last call for frost

Warm winds are coming.


Wednesday, March 08, 2006

really really happy

Last in the series.


Tuesday, March 07, 2006

Monday, March 06, 2006

angry and upset

More dissembling.


Sunday, March 05, 2006


Aurora is happy - doesn't it make you smile just to see such a joy.


Saturday, March 04, 2006


I'm wondering what she's thinking.
We are playing a game. I name an emotion or situation and Aurora acts it out.
I wish I could remember what this one is.


Friday, March 03, 2006

orange moth

Is this a tiger moth?


Thursday, March 02, 2006

very large moth

What this one lacked in mobility was more than made up for in size - big as a small baseball mitt or a large toupee.


Wednesday, March 01, 2006