Tuesday, January 31, 2006

winter waterfall

Water of various states at the pond spillover at the ruins of the Harris Woolen Mill.

Rockwood Conservation Area

Monday, January 30, 2006

weathered stump

The lower winter water levels reveal a weathered stump along the extended shore.

Rockwood Conservation Area

Sunday, January 29, 2006

happy mother

Anwen is happy to have finally met her baby.


Saturday, January 28, 2006

new grandaughter

Magali at home at ten hours.


Friday, January 27, 2006

none becomes one

My New Grandaughter:

Two become three
One becomes two
None becomes one


Thursday, January 26, 2006

the green is white

Winter golfing hasn't caught on like, say, synchronized swimming.

Perth County

Wednesday, January 25, 2006

ice temple

Saugeen River Trail

Walkerton, Ontario

Tuesday, January 24, 2006


South of Walkerton.

Monday, January 23, 2006

iced oak

Kissing Bridge Trail.


Saturday, January 21, 2006

ice and bits of crap

Saugeen River Trail.


Friday, January 20, 2006


Grooves on dead tree from beetles under the bark.


Thursday, January 19, 2006

white out and black

Mennonites in a storm.

Waterloo County, Ontario.

Wednesday, January 18, 2006

peaceful storm

From a bus window during a snowstorm.

Near Harriston, Ontario

Tuesday, January 17, 2006

ice lines

Saugeen River Trail.

Walkerton, Ontario

Monday, January 16, 2006

Sunday, January 15, 2006

Municpal Street Hill

A week ago Sunday morning sledding.

Municipal Street Hill, Guelph

Saturday, January 14, 2006

Near Best Caves

Along the Bruce Trail, Near Singhampton Caves area

Friday, January 13, 2006

roots in the air

Along Speed River, Puslinch

Thursday, January 12, 2006

the Sun changes everything

A virgin birth on December 25, visits by sheperds with gifts, the star above - who could it be - Mithra, whose veneration began 4000 years ago in Persia. A Sun god of sorts whose holy day was Sunday.

Bayfield Inlet

Wednesday, January 11, 2006

mystery plant

This is an as yet unknown plant seen in Eden Mills, along the river.

Eramosa River

Tuesday, January 10, 2006

Niagara Falls

A Photo Friday panorama of Niagara Falls from The Canadian side - the American Falls are on the left.
Six shots were flawfully joined together.

Niagara Falls

Monday, January 09, 2006

Aurora and The Watersons

Bringing in the New Year with Aurora and The Watersons - Frost & Fire


Sunday, January 08, 2006

Winter Eros

Along the Speed River, Guelph

Saturday, January 07, 2006

Light and Dew

There is a heavy cold September dew on this long grass.

Woodlawn Road, Guelph

Friday, January 06, 2006

Thursday, January 05, 2006

Singhampton Caves

Almost a rainforest feeling on a hot humid summer day at the Singhampton Caves.
Alec pointing out where we are going, Sarah a bit skeptical about the change in elevation required.
A very beautiful forest with big rocks - and caves.

Near Singhampton Caves, Ontario

Wednesday, January 04, 2006

Stony beach near Goderich

Stony beach near Goderich

Tuesday, January 03, 2006

Indian Falls

The Indian Creek falls over the limestone edge of the escarpment and at the bottom of the edge is a layer of red shale/mud - like wet clay which has eroded back behind the curtain of falling water.
Here Sarah rinses the mud off behind the relatively quiet August flow.
Nice hike in. Not a loop trail, but if you don't look back it all looks new.

Indian Falls, near Owen Sound, Ontario

Monday, January 02, 2006

the fowl and the pussycat


I've recorded Edward Lear's The Owl and the Pussycat with original music and animation.

Kensington Market, Toronto.

Sunday, January 01, 2006

harbinger of spring

A few mild days and a partial thaw revealed this hopeful harbinger of warmth to come. The year has turned, the days are longer, the sun is coming. But the full cold of winter has yet to sit down with us.

Guelph Lake